Tesco Finest Free From Truffles

Quick note: I’m not sure whether these are still available, but they are included in this Tesco Finest Free From Caramel Easter Egg!

Unless you’re a fan of dark chocolate, I imagine that one thing that people really miss when they eliminate dairy from their diets is chocolate. Luckily there’s a big range of dairy free chocolate bars available, but there seems to be fewer options when it comes to more indulgent ‘chocolate box’-style offerings.

I was in Tesco on Valentine’s Day when I spotted these truffles from Tesco’s own Finest range. When I first saw them I didn’t even realise that they were dairy free – the packaging is basically the same as Tesco’s standard Finest packaging. Individually wrapped in gold foil, you get 15 truffles in the box.

Style, but no substance?

Not only are these free from milk, they’re also free from gluten, wheat and egg, so they’re suitable for vegans too. Ingredients include sugar and cocoa butter, in addition to a fondant center made from sugar, glucose syrup and water.Β 

On to the tasting. My initial impression was that these truffles are sweet! The chocolate is hard with a relatively good ‘snap’ and the taste is somewhere between milk and dark, almost like a less creamy milk chocolate with a hint of the bitterness that you associate with dark chocolate. The truffle center is pretty solid, sweet with slight chocolate nuances.

20170220_203704
Not exactly the soft center that I was expecting

Do I like these? Yes. Would I buy them again? Probably not. There’s a bit too much sweetness and not enough chocolate flavour for me, likely due to the absence of cocoa mass. The flavour just isn’t really there. They remind me of a truffle that you’d find in your standard chocolate selection. Indeed, my boyfriend said that they reminded him of the Cadbury Roses chocolate truffle.

Nevertheless, I think these would make a good little gift for a vegan or dairy intolerant person. The packaging is really good, probably the main thing that I like about them. I really appreciate this, especially in an item which is more likely to be a gift than something that you’d buy for yourself. Nobody wants to feel like they’re being given a dietary product as a gift! If you upped the chocolate flavour then these would be a lot better, in my opinion.

6.5 out of 10.

Ingredients:Β Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Fondant, Invert Sugar Syrup, Cocoa Mass, Rice Syrup, Inulin, Water, Coconut Oil, Rice Flour, Flavourings, Emulsifier (Soya Lecithins), Fondant contains: Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Water
Free From: Gluten, Wheat, Milk, Egg

Leave a Reply

