Tesco Free From Chocolate Chip Cookies

20170224_133043

The biscuit tin at work is always a source of temptation to me. One of the most popular choices amongst my colleagues is the chocolate chip cookie. I always eye them up lovingly (the cookies, not my colleagues!), so I was delighted when I spotted these free from cookies in Tesco. Not only gluten and wheat free, they’re labelled dairy free and no egg is listed on the ingredients either. They look exactly the same as usual biscuit aisle cookies and at £1.20 for 12 cookies, the price isn’t too bad either.

20170224_133627

Taste wise, these are very similar to any gluten containing chocolate chip cookie that I’ve had. I didn’t look at the ingredients before I tried these, but one of the flavours that I picked out after my first crunchy bite was oats. Checking the packet confirmed my suspicions as the main ingredient is oat flour. Although this gives the cookies a really nice taste, it does provide a slightly grittier texture compared to a normal cookie. This isn’t something that bothered me though. I wonder whether the use of oat flour makes the cookies more filling? I certainly felt that I couldn’t have eaten an entire packet of these. Well, maybe I could have done… But these definitely seem a little bit more substantial than your standard cookie.
20170224_135205
Like their glutenous counterparts, these cookies have a lovely caramel sweetness due to the golden syrup in them. I feel that this is what differentiates the cookie from the average biscuit, so it was good to be able to still taste that. The chocolate chips also taste great – you definitely wouldn’t know that they’re dairy free – and there’s a generous amount of them too.

There isn’t much more to say about these cookies, other than that they are delicious. I think that you could give them to anyone and they would enjoy them – they’re exactly what you expect from a chocolate chip cookie. Crunch? Check. Flavour? Check. Decent chocolate chips? Check. If you’re looking to stock up your biscuit tin with some gluten or dairy free chocolate chip cookies then I would definitely recommend giving these ones a go.

8.5 out of 10.

Ingredients: Oat Flour, Sugar, Dairy Free Plain Chocolate (13%), Palm Oil, Vegetable Margarine, Tapioca Starch, Rice Flour, Golden Syrup, Raising Agents (Sodium Bicarbonate, Ammonium Bicarbonate), Stabiliser (Xanthan Gum), Flavouring, Salt.
Free from: Gluten, wheat and dairy. (No egg listed on the ingredients).
£1.20 for 12 cookies.

Leave a Reply

