Birds Eye Gluten Free Fish Fingers

It’s a pretty short review from me today, because how much can you really say about fish fingers? They’re a little bit of fish encased in breadcrumbs, perfect for grabbing out of the freezer and throwing in the oven when you can’t be bothered to cook a proper meal. I’m always pleased to see big brands releasing free from versions of their products, so I was keen to see how these Birds Eye fish fingers fared.

I bought these from Tesco and they cost £2.50 for 12 fish fingers, the same cost as their standard fish fingers (yay for no unjustified price increase just because they’re gluten free!). They’re made of pollock rather than cod and the crumb is made up of a combination of rice flour, gram flour, salt and cornflour.

Unsurprisingly these looked exactly the same as regular fish fingers. As I always do with fish fingers, I decided to oven cook them rather than grilling them. Grills and I don’t seem to mix well – I once managed to fill my kitchen with lamb and cumin-scented smoke when attempting to make kebabs… The instructions state to cook them at 210c for 12-15 minutes, so I put them on a baking tray and into the oven they went.

As instructed, I turned them halfway through cooking. So far, so good. They’d kept their shape, didn’t fall apart when I turned them, and the fishy filling wasn’t oozing out all over the baking tray. Another few minutes in the oven and they were done. Now, however, there was a little bit of ooze… Maybe I’d cooked them for longer than I should have done? Still, they weren’t welded to the baking tray, which I was happy about. Serving them ‘mum dinner’ style, alongside chips and baked beans, onto my plate they went.

Taste wise, these are identical to standard fish fingers. The pollock is substantial, a good hunk of moist and flaky fish. The only difference was the crumb. It wasn’t as crispy as non-gluten free fish fingers. There was still some crunch to them, but some of the coating was a little soggy and they had begun to lose their structure slightly, the fish was threatening to escape from it’s breaded cage. Of course, this could have just been due to my poor cooking of them…

Nonetheless, I was satisfied. These are tasty fish fingers and I’m pleased to see that Birds Eye has released a free from version of one of the staples of a Great British diet. Cheers, Captain.

8 out of 10.

Ingredients: Alaska Pollock, Breadcrumb (Rice Flour, Gram Flour, Salt, Cornflour), Rapeseed Oil, Potato Starch, Cornflour, Water, Rice Semolina, Potato Flakes, Salt, Pea Fibre, Pea Starch.
Free from: Gluten, wheat, dairy and egg.
£2.50 for a box of 12.

Leave a Reply

